Default How do you all feel about public safety depts.

I am a police officer/fire fighter for a dept. how do you feel about depts that are public safety?

there are a lot of depts surrounding mine that do not like us very much probably because of the pay we received and our equipment.

Forum Member

I was a police officer for 12+ years before moving across the street to the fire department. I've been a career firefighter/paramedic for about 8 years now.

I think the "public safety officer" model looks good on paper, and I don't doubt that many politicians salivate at the thought of being able to lump the jobs together-then cut staffing and, in theory, do more with less.

In my personal experience, however, attempts to do this have resulted in less than desirable results. I would submit that this, by and large, has been the majority experience of places that do try it. I'm not saying it can't be done; it sounds like your agency has succeeded. Historically, however, I believe most places that have tried it haven't been able to make it work. Look around; how many public safety agencies are there in your area? If it was easy, wouldn't everyone be jumping on the bandwagon?

Why doesn't it work? I think this could be debated forever and there are no absolute right or wrong answers. I can offer my personal opinion.

I think that the mindset to be able to work in the two industries are at opposite ends of the spectrum. I'm not saying that it's impossible to find people able to do both-but right now, the police department in my town is having problems trying to find enough qualified candidates, and turnover among new hires is phenomenal. Add more duties and training, and I think it gets even worse. When someone does leave, it'll be an even bigger hit because of all the extra training invested in the person so they'll be able to wear more hats.