Forum Member

Default CAFS and hose line size - how does it change?

First, I'm a rookie volunteer in a CAFS based department and still trying to soak everything up. Been through the basic and mandatory and looking to do FF1/FF2 this spring.

As I've lurked, I've seen lots of threads talking about where you use 1.5", 1.75" and 2.5" hose and began wondering how the use of CAFS affects this. To date, I've been to a couple fires and we've used only 1.75" line and in some cases before the 2nd line was laid, the fire was out. Mind you, where we are at, its mostly SFD and farms.

With that, does it change your opinion of needing a 2.5" line if its a CAFS line?

MembersZone Subscriber

You still should pull a line that is large enough to do the job if for any reason that the system fails.
    Also a 21/2" CAF's line eats fire, it has knock down power that is more along the lines of a master stream, and can be used to Blitz well involved buildings, and its light enough to be moved around once it is charged.

Forum Member

Captaincvfd is right you need to size your line to the fire. Remember CAFS works not by decreasing the required flow needed, its works by increasing the waters effectiveness. It still boils down to GPM vs BTU no matter if its CAF or plain water flowing through the nozzle.

Forum Member

CAFS does not require the same water flow. The chemicals added to the water do change the waters characteristics, but that’s not what causes the reduced flow required to extinguish the really hot fires. There have been many tests that prove CAFS uses MUCH less water in the foam to extinguish and absorb MUCH more heat.

One of the many reasons for this is the CAFS foam is 90% efficient, and water streams are only 10% efficient. You can see this by observing the amount of water that runs out the door and into the street with water applications and there is very little if any water wasted when using CAFS.