Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: What's it like?

Default What's it like?

Hello,

I am an EMT-B interested in volunteering for a volunteer fire company. I wanted to hear some experiences from other volunteer firefighters. What kind of training do you go through? What do you usually do? What is it like being the new person around the fire house? Are the physical requirements for a volunteer firefighter the same as a career firefighter?

Thanks for all your help.

Thumbs up I hope this helps a little.

It's great to hear that your interested in becoming a firefighter. The training that you go though will depend on your local department, my department sends us to training though out our state if we want to. As far as what you will be doing that varies by department also. I live in a largely rural area so most of my calls are on the farm. Now for being the new guy, always be willing to learn whatever you can from the old timers, as you might already know being an EMT, also remember that at some point everyone was a new guy.

As for physical requirements that also depends on your department, my department really doesn't have any standard so long as you can do the job.

You can check with the department that your interested in joining and ask them. I hope this helps.
    Firefighter/ EMT-Basic
    Proud Soldier in the Iowa Army National Guard
    GLT 11/25/2005

All Gave Some
    Some Gave All
    Never Forget the Sacrifices Made

These are my opinions and not those of my dept.

Quote Originally Posted by LiamWolf View Post
    Hello,

I am an EMT-B interested in volunteering for a volunteer fire company. I wanted to hear some experiences from other volunteer firefighters. What kind of training do you go through? What do you usually do? What is it like being the new person around the fire house? Are the physical requirements for a volunteer firefighter the same as a career firefighter?

Thanks for all your help.