Forum Member

Default Dummies Guide to Hydraulics

This surely has been poste don here but I can't find it.

Is there an easy to understand hydraulics guide somewhere?

Keep in mind:

1) I suck at math

2) Everything I've read on here makes my head hurt after 5 minutes
    I am a highly trained professional and can find my :: expletive deleted:: with either hand in various light conditions.

Forum Member

Practice practice practice. I had the same problem at first but i would sit at the fire station and have one of the older jakes make up problems for me to figure out.
    Hello. Fire dept.. You light'em, We fight'em!

"hard working, gear jamming, nail driving, "jake". "

IACOJ
    4-16-2010 "On the approach"

Forum Member

Flash cards with all of the different friction losses, gpm's, tips sizes and hose sizes worked for me. Repitition and doing problems on a board and then on the pump panel.

Forum Member

although not 100% accurate for the "hydraulics" junkies. I was first taught how to pump a truck like this.

Fog Nozzle 100psi
    Master Stream 80 psi
    smooth handline 50psi

add 10 psi for every 100ft of handline
    add 5psi for everyfloor above the first
    pump a standpipe at 150psi
    never send more than 100psi to any truck if relay pumping

i think thats about it. practice running multiple lines at multiple pressures without alot of pressure jumps is what makes you proficient. Pay attn to your guys. they will let you know how the line feels

Permanently Removed

MembersZone Subscriber

What we had done is ran lines off at 200 ft with the various tip, nozzles, and appliances. We then pitot'ed them and used flow meters. Found out FL then in 100 ft incriments. We then made liminated "cheat sheets" and pinstriped the preconnects for the lengths appropriate to the x-lays.

PM me and i'll send what I have.

Forum Member

10psi per 100 is way too low, maybe if it was a line heading downhill. more like 15-20 for 1.75 inch line.

MembersZone Subscriber