Like Tree74Likes

Thread: Fdny List 6019

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by SleepyHollow View Post
    check out money.cnn.com.

Federal government says that the economy is getting better. For as much as we all have negative feelings toward bloomberg, scopetta, and the city, the economy is the root of all our problems, and those problems will not be solved until the economy gets better.

Things are (so far) falling into line with the economists predictions that the GDP will return to growth this quarter.

That's definately good news, economic and stock market growth is great...Right now I'm more worried about unemployment, which is still high and is not expected to get any better despite the positive growth. NYC is at 10.3% unemployment, which means less revenue through income taxes(no clue what the actuall $$ loss of revenue this translates to)---I think this is going to be a bigger issue than whether we have positive GDP growth. I work in banking right now (can't wait to get out) so I'm hoping the news we have been hearing, at least on the economic front, continues to improve.

Forum Member

Default Runoff Election

Hey guys,

This coming Tuesday, September 29th is a run-off primary election. (Used when a primary election race is too close to declare a victor by a majority).

Let's get out there and get our men in office!

City Comptroller, the UFA endorses queens couniclman John Liu:

Steve Cassidy, UFA President said, “John Liu has demonstrated his leadership as a member of the City Council, supporting firefighter and public safety issues and has a background in finance as an actuary. He fought to halt the efforts in 2003 and 2009 to close our community firehouses and reduce fire company staffing to unsafe levels. John Liu fully understands that while budgetary priorities must be made in the city, public safety must be at the forefront.”

http://www.liunewyork.com/splash