Forum Member

Default Hello from Kansas City

I'm a frequent visitor to the site for the last year so I firgured it was about time to create an ID for myself. I am a emt-b from kansas city, ks. A little education background, I have associates degree in fire science from a local community college. This may I will be graduating with my bachelor's degree in Technology Managment. And eventually, the following January I will be starting paramedic school.

I never really knew what I wanted to do until I had my uncle who is a kck fire chief take me on some ride a longs a few years ago. I knew right then and there when I witnessed my first fire, and he let me do the a med. call later that night (a drive by shooting)...this was the career for me.

I still have a long way to go, but i know you have to be patient in this career. I know it will definitely be worth the wait, good luck to all the rest of you inspiring firefighters...and the vets, keep spreading the knowledge and know how.

Forum Member

Kcfire, what paramedic school are you starting at?

Forum Member

im planning on applying to johnson county community college in september and hopefully starting next january, it is a ten month program. Ive heard its pretty intense and doesnt really allow you to work. A friend of mine went through it last year and almost everyone in his class passed.

I have also talk to Mast about their paramedic program, still up in the air

Rocking the Midwest

Default school

I got to KCKCC right now for EMT-B and i'm planning on going to get my medic in a few years. This fall i'm going to go get my FF I & II, i'm also getting C.E.R.T. certified as well. KCKCC is a good school and KCKFire comes in for alot of our Labs they are pretty kewl. Good luck with medic school man.

Forum Member

twp1980,