WFDFire2156
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default whats the best type of Bunker gear??

i havent seen this thread yet soo I thought Id start it. What is the best manufatuer and type of bunker gear out there. Pictures of peoples gear would be appriciated. Also what color gear do you prefer? I have a set of black globe which works and looks great with a Cairens 880 Trad lid and 5006 pro warrington leathers.
    --------------------------------
    Thanks Stay Safe,
    343 never forget

Permanently Removed

I am not an expert in this area, but asking who makes the best gear is like asking who makes the best auto.

I think for the most part the fabric comes from almost the same mills. But I will let someone else address that.

To be very honest, I have had two sets of Janesville gear and they have been through hell and back and still holding up really well. One set is in service, the other is in reserve.

Hope that helps out.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by WFDFire2156 View Post
    i havent seen this thread yet soo I thought Id start it. What is the best manufatuer and type of bunker gear out there. Pictures of peoples gear would be appriciated. Also what color gear do you prefer? I have a set of black globe which works and looks great with a Cairens 880 Trad lid and 5006 pro warrington leathers.
    --------------------------------
    Thanks Stay Safe,
    343 never forget

I would have to say that it depends on your area. For example you would not want moring pride or globe g-xtreme gear if you have a bunch of high rises in your first due. They are too big, and bulky.

I would go for lighter gear if it were up to me. Keep in mind that Firefighters are dying of cardiac related events not burns. Get the gear lighter, and breathing better.

WFDFire2156
    Firehouse.com Guest