Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Young guy watching "Emergency" for the first time...

I'm just 24. I know it might be a shock... but Ive only been in the business for about 3 years and one of the older guys here at work exposed me to "Emergency" for the first time. I have heard of the show, but never caught an eppisode of it. He loaned me Season 3. I have sat here all night watching every eppisode simply entranced.

and...

This is amazing.

Wow.... is all I have to say.

Did they really have to be on the line with medical control the entire time? It's just amazing how much things must have changed! I am spellbound by how medics had their hands tied in the 70s.

Since I'm a rookie, please elighten me... Was it REALLY like this?

MembersZone Subscriber

Did they really have to be on the line with medical control the entire time? It's just amazing how much things must have changed! I am spellbound by how medics had their hands tied in the 70s.

some places still work like that
    The Box. You opened it. We Came...

"You'll take my life but I'll take your's too. You'll fire musket but I'll run you through. So when your waiting for the next attack, you'll better understand there's no turn back."

MembersZone Subscriber

All things being equal, and allowing for some (OK, a lot) of cinematic/poetic license, Emergency! was remarkably realistic for its time.

You have always known medics to more or less enjoy the freedom to treat as they see fit under standing orders, but back when firefighters were first given the job and there really wasn't any EMS system implemented as we know it today... yeah, some people were quite concerned about anyone other than MDs providing advanced professional medical treatment in excess of a band-aid outside of the hospital.