Forum Member

Default how long is your drive to work?

Hi fellow brothers

I am a full-time firefighter for a great department, but the cost of living is pretty high in this city (where I currently live). I am considering moving to a little over an hour away from my current home where the cost of living is much lower (its actually across the state line). If I were to sell my house and move I would be able to afford a home that is about 500-800sq ft larger, newer, and also with a least an acre of land to go with it for near the same price that I could sell my current home for. Currently I live in a 1300 sq ft home with a small front yard and small backyard in a not so great neighborhood.

I am considering driving this distance to work every third day, but wanted some advice of other firefighters who cannot quite live in the area where they work and have to move a great distance away in another city.

Is it worth moving and enjoying the bigger house and more land? I am 25 years old and will be starting a family in the next couple years.

Thanks for replying and stay safe

Forum Member

I live about 35 miles from my department and with traffic it takes me about an hour to get to work. Definitely worth it.

With a 24 hour shift, I physically am driving to work 8 days a month, so I commute 560 miles each month and spend 16 hours each month in my car. Compare this to someone that works Monday through Friday, and it would be the equivilent of driving 14 miles to work and spending the same 16 hours each month driving.

For a bigger house, I would certainly move.

Rabble rouser

Thumbs up

I moved from 5 minutes from the station to 45 minutes from the station and the only thing I regret is the buffer of the engine driver calling me at 30 minutes till shift change because I overslept and still making it to the firehouse in plenty of time!

I traded up from a townhouse to a single family and love it.