Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber SkipJack270's Avatar

Default Where to go from here..

I'm trying to get some advice / direction / divine inspiration, and hoping you folks might be able to help (at least with two of the three, anyway.)
    I am trying to find a better job within my dream field (firefighting, obviously), and having some trouble. Here is where I am at:
    - Served as an active member in a volunteer department for about three years (moved out of PA and into a totally career department area in CT.)
    - Graduating in May of this year with an Associates Degree in Fire and Occupational Safety from University of New Haven. (I have a lot more credits, in fact about halfway toward a Bachelors in Fire Science as well.)
    - I am a current fire truck and emergency vehicle mechanic.
    - I was a certified EMT-B in PA (Sadly, not national, only state certified.)

My question is where should I be looking for jobs and opportunities within the fire field? Although I would love to be a volunteer firefighter, I don't think being a career firefighter is in the cards for me (personal choice.) I think my interests, experience, and knowledge would be better suited to something like arson investigation (my first choice), or as an alternative, something along the lines of inspector / fire marshal / code enforcement, etc. Public, private, local, state, whatever.
    What kinds of recommendations would you all have for the places I could look, or the kinds of things I should be doing to find and attain that goal? I realize that getting more certifications would help, but there must be places I can go where I could be useful and involved with this kind of work while I go for the higher level certifications, etc.
    Please help!
    Isiah 43: When you walk through the fire,
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    9-11-01. We Will Never Forget You.