Thread: Golden Hour

Forum Member

Default Golden Hour

I am a volunteer in a town of about 2,500. This morning we had a call for a multiple-car accicent (unkown if 10-47 or 10-48). When I arrived at the station, our chief (our only full-timer) had started the rescue truck and one grass truck. Our SOP is to run rescue and a pumper on vehicle accidents. It had been snowing/sleeting for about a half hour. The chief made the decision to roll in his POV (this is common & he has a lights permit) with one grass truck (4WD) and leave the rescue truck back at the station while they go see if extrication is needed. Neither the chief's POV nor the grass truck have any rescue equipment on them and there was less than an inch of snow on the ground. I've been fighting fires for five years and the chief has more than 20. Any thoughts?

I have tried to post in response to some of you, but they are all lost in moderator land. Thought I'd try to edit my original to see if its a loophole.

Yes!!! We have acheived success.

The cheif had the same info the rest of us had. He just didn't want to roll a non 4WD vehicle in 1/4" of snow. Some of you have said I should ask the chief why he did what he did -- 1. I do talk to the chief. We've had words on other issues (between the two of us and after following his orders at the scene). I just wanted some differing opinions considering the difference in our experience. 2. I know why he did what he did. I just don't agree with it.

My take on this is that our community expects us to be able to respond to emergencies in less-than-ideal conditions. We should know how to drive in the snow. I'm all about safety, but you roll (safely) the equipment you need to do the job. Sending a grass truck out to see if you need rescue equipment seems ridiculous to me. Remember the title of my post "golden hour". There was potentially multiple victims waiting on us to extricate them so they could receive necessary medical care.