Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Small Maine Town: Backwards?

Hello All!

I've come to share some information and hopefully get some feedback on my department. I'm a fulltime firefighter, 1 of 7. It's a combi department, us full timers are Engineers, as we operate the apparatus, and we also have a call department currently consisting of an *** chief, dep chief, 3 Caps, 2 Loos and 6 or so firefighters. We have 3 Engines, an Aerial and a Tanker, full time chief, and two engineers on shift 24-7.

Now comes the strange part.

We also dispatch for the PD, which is housed in our station. Though we are given no formal dispatch training, we are expected to take emergency calls and dispatch the police units to them. We also operate the summit computer aided dispatch system (we do have a short class to learn the use of that system).

These duties are normally performed at the state or county level by 'professional' dispatchers at an hourly rate of $14 or more. Our top pay is currently $12.70.

We are not permitted to perform EMS, nor is the town licensed for such. All EMS is handled by the local hospital which currently operates the only two ambulances in a service area roughly the size of Rhode Island.

Currently, the town manager does not feel the fire department is 'showing its value' to the citizens, as we do not ride around constantly as the public works or police department do. In fact, we have even been called 'common thieves' while in contract negotiation.

Although we cannot show our value by dispatching or performing other in house duties, performing 10-14 business inspections a month, as well as checking all town owned extinguishers, and responding to emergencies is still not enough. We each have duties that must be reported on monthly, such as hose testing, training, reporting, inspections, etc etc etc. Still not enough.