Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    MembersZone Subscriber

Unhappy Probationary Period

I am on my "Probationary Period" and I have to, by the dept. standards reply to at least half of the calls but I am a full time student at the fire academy in motour falls and I am only home a little of the time or at least in our jurisdiction do they have the authority to kick me out even thought the time spent out of the jurisdiction is fire related. I have been to three calls.

They probably do. Did you tell them about your obligations prior to them hiring you? If so, they are the ones who have failed.
    Politics is like driving. To go forward select "D", to go backward select "R."

MembersZone Subscriber

I am not hired because it is a volunteer dept. but they know that I am taking classes at the fire academy I was just wondering if they could even though it is a volunteer dept.

Forum Member

Volunteer departments are completely independent, they can do what they want.

Everyone goes home!

im sure if you explain what you are doing the should understand

MembersZone Subscriber

If the officers are any good, they will work with you. Most departments can't afford to turn away good people. The fact that you are missing calls due to being at a fire academy should be taken into consideration. The training you get at the academy will only help them.

I'm not a fan of requiring a minimum number of calls. Sometimes peoples schedules just don't match up with when the calls go out.

MembersZone Subscriber

That makes sense so thankyou all of you for helping me

MembersZone Subscriber