Thread: EMT to Medic

Everyone goes home!

Default EMT to Medic

I am 19 i will be 20 in august i am currently in emt school and was wondering if i should jump right into medic or wait a year before doing so i have been told different things and was wondering what other people think? please let me know

Forum Member

Default take your time

this is a personal opinion, take it fwiw

i was an emt for 12 years before i went to medic. and boy am i glad. EMT's who have some months or years in the field generally do very well when it comes time to upgrade. Watching other medics work was a boon for me, and only helped me master the skills I needed when i became a paramedic.

i watched several of my fellow classmates drop out one by one who had done the EMT-medic school thing. with no experience and some never even being in an ambulance, almost everyone of them dropped out. eventaully (in my class of 50) NONE of the folks who did back to back stayed in EMS/FD. Many of them learned in the field that they just weren't cut out for ther job. thats a ton of time and money to waste to find out EMS isnt for you.

My advice is to finish your EMT, and get a job for a Private or transporting FD. Learn the ropes of being in the back of a rig. learn how to be an EXCELLENT EMT for your paramedic. Learn FROM paramedics (ones that you know are on top of the game) how to be a good EMT. Everyone's learning curve and tolerance for the job is different.

If you have any more questions, let me know.

Good luck, and remember, EMS isnt for everyone, but be passionate about it if you DO enjoy it. You will be very rewarded.

josh

holm@ntfire.net

Josh

MembersZone Subscriber

Wait a year, you'll need experience. Sure you can become a medic, but lot of places look for the experience. Besides, maybe you won't like it.

FLA1786
    Firehouse.com Guest

A lot of people tell you different things cause everyone is different. Do what you want and feel comfortable with.

Forum Member