Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Lightbulb RIT & EMS Training

My dept has done RIT training as well as 2 of our neighboring depts and the 3 of us use each other for RIT at working structure fires. None of the three of us are first responders for EMS. My dept has rescue tools and a private amb. service, the others have FR seperate from the fire dept and assist us, their fr, or another dept with tools at mva's with extrication. I was wondering if all of my guys should be trained as EMS first reponders to be on a RIT? I am an EMT-IV Tech & 2 other guys are EMT-Basics (We're in Wisc & volunteer.) the rest of the dept has no formal training other than basic first aid taught at their jobs if any. Is there any written requirements/standards that all RIT members have some sort of EMS training? I would like it if everyone was trained to the level of a fr, but I would like to find some info to back up a proposal to get everyone trained if possible. Also, I would like to know your depts. minimum EMS training for RIT, if you got any.

We run a ambulance. As for the use of EMS with RIT the main focus would be getting the victim out of the environment they are in and out quickly as possible. As for once the victim is outside EMS can take over and provide pt care as needed.

As for EMS. EMS should be on scene standing by at every fire in my eyes. Providing EMS and rehab for firefighters while operating on the fireground and after performing a RIT operation are needed as well I feel. The crews on the RIT team are going to get their asses kicked while performing their task.

As for getting people up to a FR level if yopu can do it great! Even if it's just to look out for your own or neighboring fd members!

Forum Member