MembersZone Subscriber

Default Seasonal Firefighter in SoCal

I'm new to the wildland thing. I'm also from Milwaukee, WI so it's not too big over here. I am considering giving this a shot in 2009.

I'm currently 20 years old and will be finishing my AA in Fire Protection Technician in Dec 08. I am in the background stage with LAFD. I don't have the best driving record and after talking with several Captains and Recruiters from LA, they said that I should apply again in 2 years and I should have no problem getting on.(They won't look at my instances since I was a minor and it was over 5 years ago then.)

However, I was considering getting my BS in Fire Prevention Technology at Cal State-LA if I don't get the LAFD job. If I attended college there, would there be a place nearby that I could work as a seasonal wildland firefighter? If so, where could I find information? What would I need?(I'm WI FFI, FFII, National Registry EMT-B, HazMat Tech) Not sure any of those would help. Also what's the average pay for a seasonal FF? Coming from Milwaukee, it would be hard to keep up with the cost of living.

Thanks and I hope this makes sense. Like I said, I'm clueless about the wildland scene.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by clark918 View Post
    I'm new to the wildland thing. I'm also from Milwaukee, WI so it's not too big over here. I am considering giving this a shot in 2009.

I'm currently 20 years old and will be finishing my AA in Fire Protection Technician in Dec 08. I am in the background stage with LAFD. I don't have the best driving record and after talking with several Captains and Recruiters from LA, they said that I should apply again in 2 years and I should have no problem getting on.(They won't look at my instances since I was a minor and it was over 5 years ago then.)