Thread: Supplements?

Forum Member

Default Supplements?

I have been working out and doing cardio for about 2 months trying to get my body back in excellent shape. I have been dropping weight like crazy but I am not yet seeing significant gains in muscle mass. The only supplements I am currently using is whey protein and a daily vitamin supplement.

I am really confused on what (if any) additional supplements I should use, there is so much conflicting info and studies out there on supplements that I am lost on whether any work or not. Since there is no regulation on the claims the manufacturers make, its hard to believe any of the statements.

Is anyone using a supplement other than protein where they see significant benefits?

Forum Member

Your supplements are fine, I wouldnt suggest any others. I use muscle milk collegiate as it has a TON of calories, carbs and protein since I have a hard time keeping weight ON.

Now, it is important for you to understand that it is not possible to lose weight and put on muscle mass at the same time. The body just doesnt work like that. This is why you will hear body builders say they are either doing their "bulking phase" or their "cutting phase". You can only do one at a time.

In your situation however, you should be seeing a lot of muscle toning and shaping going on.

MembersZone Subscriber

The question is Are you trying to look bigger or get stronger? Are you add weight each workout? If so, you are getting stronger. As a firefighter, you should be more concerned about strength, not size.
    Mike
    Fire Captain

Forum Member

Strength is definately up, I am making gains in my workouts (thank you CrossFit) but I am not seeing the mass develop as it used to.

I am sure my age may be a factor (39) but I would love to get the lean look back that I used to have. McDonalds, beer and t.v. took it away, just trying like mad to get it back.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Food vs. supplements