god

Question Simple Hydrant Hose Question

Our truck has a 2000' 5" on the back. When hitting the hydrant, what is the minimum distance the truck must be from the hydrant? I would imagine pretty far so the hose has room to charge safely.

I know this is a probably a simple question, but I am still new and learning.

Thanks!

(I am new to a dept (more rural) and with this hose length. With my old dept (sub/urban), our trucks had only a 100' 5," so not use to this length).

Forum Member

I guess I don't understand the question. Our engines will pull within 10 feet of the hydrant if it's convenient.
    I am a complacent liability to the fire service

makes good girls go bad

Quote Originally Posted by mikie333 View Post
    Our truck has a 2000' 5" on the back.
    Good God!!
    AJ, MICP, FireMedic
    Member, IACOJ.
    FTM-PTB-EGH-DTRT-RFB-KTF
    This message has been made longer, in part from a grant from the You Are a Freaking Moron Foundation.

Forum Member

See that hydrant about half a milf away, I want that one for water...

Forum Member

Our truck has a 2000' 5" on the back. When hitting the hydrant, what is the minimum distance the truck must be from the hydrant? I would imagine pretty far so the hose has room to charge safely.

Thanks!

(I am new to a dept (more rural) and with this hose length. With my old dept (sub/urban), our trucks had only a 100' 5," so not use to this length).
    The amount of hose in the bed has less to do with it than the lengths of the individual sections. Each length (coupling to coupling) is usually 50', but some dept's use 100' lengths.

Like ChicagoFF said, you can pull within 10' and then just make a big loop with the supply line.

Forum Member

Engine should pull slightly past the hydrant and as close to the curb line as possible. When the engine leads off the hose should flake out of the bed approx. on the same line as the first section on the ground.