Default Firefighter classifications?

Hello all, well i've been doing alot of reading on what you guys do for a living, and hopefully i too will become a firefighter. I have a few questions i hope you don't mind answering....it may sound stupid but you'll have to excuse me as i am new to this stuff, although i've always wanted to become a firefighter. My question is, what is the difference between Industrial FF, Wildland FF, and Regualar Firefighter??? Is because one pays more than the other? more jobs available? Wildland FF doesnt have to deal with accident scences for those who have weak stomache? etc..? Can someone just go from one to the other or are they completely different and have different training for each specific field? I'm looking to get into the fire academy offered through my local community college let me know if this will be a good for someone starting from scratch. here is the link http://www.fresnocitycollege.edu/fireacademy/

I know it will be a long and tough journey ahead of me and know it won't be easy, so if any of you can give me some advise and point me in the right direction that would be great, and of course i will be doing alot more reading from this great site here. Approximately how long did it take you guys to become professional firefighters from the very first day of class/training to the day you were hired? please let me know so that i will know what to expect as far as the timeline goes. BTW i'm from California....is there a big demand for firefighters? Thanks in advance for your help.

MembersZone Subscriber