Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default NIMS 300/400 and TtT classes

Are there any Federal agencies (NWCG, etc) who provide NIMS 300/400 certification? Here in Texas, it's a huge PITA to find a 300/400 class my volunteers can attend, because they all seem to be offered during the week.

It would be SOOOO good if somebody in Texas woke up and started offering these classes on weekends.

I've completed all my NIMS requirements, but I'm a paid Firefighter, and I got paid to sit in a station and do the online classes, then I got paid to take a week-long 300/400 class. Texas requires me to take a NIMS TtT class, apparently because the EMS and the Fire Commission Instructor certifications I've held for years aren't good enough.

I would like to find some agency who will recognize instructor certifications OTHER THAN THEIR OWN and allow me to teach my folks and my neighboring departments on the weekends, when they're all available.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Default The FEDS

DHS Center for Domestic Preparedness will come in and teach these classes for free (they do offer weekends too). Also, any classes that are taken in Anniston, all accommodations are paid for. I think this number will get you were you need to be. Rick is who we deal with, he can probably give you some direction too. Also, check with your State Emergency Management Agency.

As far as being an Instructor....for NIMS IS 700 there is no T-t-T. If you download the Instructors guide it tells you the requirements (which you probably meet). Same thing for teaching ICS 100 & 200. It doesn't start getting "harder" to teach until you get to the ICS 300 & 400 classes. The main difference then is your experience in the ICS system and taking the T-t-T. I will caution you, in IL, all 300 and 400 training must go through the State EMA. So just by taking the T-t-T doesn't mean all of a sudden you are blessed...now the feds may look at that differently.