Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Talking

It is hard the first time you try but you will get the hang of it. Im only a jr firefighter and my dads a chief at the same station and when i joined a little test they made us try was putting on our gear in 60 seconds and then we messed around with the packing up in 60 seconds. just start out slow and work into it. a good way of first putting the air pack on is the over the head method. ask some guys at your station they will probably be able to show you.

Forum Member

My two cents would be to learn how to do it with your gloves on! So when you start taking in runs you can have your gloves on while responding and you don't have to mess around with them at the front door/ fire floor! I've never been timed but I'm pretty sure I can get my facepiece , hood, and helmet on in less than 30 seconds w/ my gloves on! Practice makes perfect though!

Originally Posted by AZFF25
    Kevin..........you forgot to mention that you had to do all of this while walking backward in the snow..............
    Originally posted by THEFIRENUT
    while chewing gum and whistling Dixie!!!
    Originally posted by RFDExplorer
    and uphill!!!!!!!!!!
    Both ways!

to quote Yoda...

SCBA you will don in less than a minute with practice, practice, practice.. try not, do Young Jedi
    Last edited by CaptainGonzo; 03-13-2008 at 08:25 AM.
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Forum Member

Quick question...
    Do you have 60 seconds to don your SCBA and be breathing air or do you have 60 seconds to don all of your PPE (including SCBA)???
    MCFD Station 1- "The Second-Due Saviors."