MembersZone Subscriber

Oh..and in addition to my post above...

I also volunteer as a reserve deputy sheriff in my county. I am a sworn law enforcement officer and I can get suited up and go out and serve as a police officer any time I wish. Chances are much more likely for me to be shot or injured as a police officer, these days. No-one on my crew pokes fun at me or complains about that.

So, it's not all about the risk of being injured, at least not here. The main problem is here the career FF's here have no use, or understanding of volunteers. Even though some of them used to do it...they act like they are better than them/us.

I just show up, do my job, and I don't talk about what I do on my days off.

the 4-1-4

Quote Originally Posted by JaredMTFD View Post
    blah blah blah
    Who are you again? ....

Forum Member

Lightbulb

Did we kill another horse just to beat it, or did the dead one get reanimated in some kind of Frankensteinish experiment:
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Forum Member

Thumbs up

Everyone just do what the hell you want! If it won't get you in trouble, then have at it.

If you're in NH do things however your local culture does them, same thing for those of you in WI, CA, and TX. Why waste time fighting about it on here?

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by jasper45 View Post
    Who are you again? ....

What's it to you?

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by JaredMTFD View Post
    I reside in the district that I volunteer in. It is 20 miles away from the city where I am a career FF. What I do on my days off, is my business. As long as I show up to work on time, do my job, and do it well, there's nothing anyone can say.