Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Need advice (kind of long)

Hey all,
    Need some advice/opinions. For about the last year I've been a resident/intern with a small/medium size dept in a fairly rural area. As a resident I live at one of the stations, am assigned to a normal shift, go to the local community college full-time (working towards AS degrees in FS and EMS - Paramedic), which the district pays for. When I'm not at class I'm expected to be at one of the stations working with whatever shift is on. We do get some pay, but because of budget problems it was just cut pretty drastically. I basically have enough to barely pay the bills; sometimes I can't even do that.
    I'm not complaining, I love this, even though I'm working my tail off for next to no money, I'm here for the experience and I'm definitely getting it.
    The problem is, in this part of the state, all the paid-career positions are at the paramedic level. The honest truth is that I don't want to be a paramedic. I'd like to go to a city anyway. I know that as a medic you can do a lot more than a basic (which I currently am), and that you're truly a lot more hirable (important to me). I've even spoken to some of the firemedics I work with about my concern, and a lot of them have said that they felt the same way, but once they got into the medic program, they found thats its something they really like. They've also said that if given the chance, they would have taken a job as a basic with a bigger dept, instead of doing the medic thing.