Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Trying to get MABAS strted

Just need a little help

I am currently a firefighter for the city I live in and 911 dispatcher for the county I live in. The county I live in is trying to get MABAS started and some people are opposing the idea. Can someone fill me in on the pros and cons of having MABAS in our county, I don't believe anyone else in the area has this system.
    Please help!

MembersZone Subscriber SFDredhat126's Avatar

Start here: http://www.mabas.org/

Forum Member

I think SFD would agree. The process is slow and some departments are less willing to sign on and adopt MABAS guidelines and protocols. Has Collinsville adopted MABAS numbers? We use a 4 digit St. Louis County style system instead of MABAS and the opinions are split as to if we should change. It would be much better if the division and the county 911 board got together and MANDATED it.

Anyway. In my county I would say the two biggest all paid depts. are the most resistant to change. They want to keep doing things "their way". Eventually....maybe as long as 20-30 years down the road when their staffing levels have decreased they will be calling for mutual aid more and more.

Well the problem is not the paid department in our county, its is all of the volunteer departments that is going to be a challenge to get on board. They have ideals that were instilled many many years ago when they first got on the departments 50 years ago. Is there any pros or cons to having mabas?

MembersZone Subscriber SFDredhat126's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by GFPD2005 View Post
    I think SFD would agree. The process is slow and some departments are less willing to sign on and adopt MABAS guidelines and protocols. Has Collinsville adopted MABAS numbers?
    Collinsville just started using MABAS numbers at the beginning of this year. We will probably implement the box cards this summer.