Thread: gung ho newbie

MembersZone Subscriber

Default gung ho newbie

I've always longed to do something special for people. Whether it was to serve in the military to keep our country safe, be a firefighter to keep your property and lives safe, or to be a paramedic and help people's lives that way.
    I have to admit I'm one of those guys who's always been gung ho on things that really interest me. I wanted to be in the military so I joined the Marine Corps. I wanted to be a firefighter so I got my degree in Fire Science. I wanted to help people and better my chance in getting on a fire department so I got my degree in Paramedicine. I wanted to be a rescue diver so I got SCUBA certified. Do you see how I am just a little? I really am interested on getting on a department that has a decent involvement with every aspect of fire and rescue( Haz-Mat, EMS, swiftwater rescue, technical rescue, dive rescue and recovery, confined space,and of course fire suppression, etc,etc). I would love to be involved in all of these things. Now the hard part is finding a department that does all of these things to a high standard and pays decent. I just want to be a good fireman who gets on a department that prides itself with excellent training and personnel.If anyone has any suggestions please help. Thank you

IACOJ BOD

There is no I in team.
    Psychiatrists state 1 in 4 people has a mental illness.
    Look at three of your friends, if they are ok, your it.

makes good girls go bad

Valium is your friend.
    AJ, MICP, FireMedic
    Member, IACOJ.
    FTM-PTB-EGH-DTRT-RFB-KTF
    This message has been made longer, in part from a grant from the You Are a Freaking Moron Foundation.

Forum Member

You had us......until you mentioned "and pays decent". You can't have it all. Either you want to help people or you want a decent paycheck......

Just kidding, you can have both!!

You can breath now
    Just someone trying to help! (And by the way....Thanks for YOUR help!)