Thread: gung ho newbie

MembersZone Subscriber

Default gung ho newbie

I've always longed to do something special for people. Whether it was to serve in the military to keep our country safe, be a firefighter to keep your property and lives safe, or to be a paramedic and help people's lives that way.
    I have to admit I'm one of those guys who's always been gung ho on things that really interest me. I wanted to be in the military so I joined the Marine Corps. I wanted to be a firefighter so I got my degree in Fire Science. I wanted to help people and better my chance in getting on a fire department so I got my degree in Paramedicine. I wanted to be a rescue diver so I got SCUBA certified. Do you see how I am just a little? I really am interested on getting on a department that has a decent involvement with every aspect of fire and rescue( Haz-Mat, EMS, swiftwater rescue, technical rescue, dive rescue and recovery, confined space,and of course fire suppression, etc,etc). I would love to be involved in all of these things. Now the hard part is finding a department that does all of these things to a high standard and pays decent. I just want to be a good fireman who gets on a department that prides itself with excellent training and personnel.If anyone has any suggestions please help. Thank you

MembersZone Subscriber

You sound like you set very lofty goals for yourself. More importantly, you follow through and achieve them. I encourage you to research each department before you test for them. Not all departments are created equally.
    Do your homework and learn about their culture. Not all departments are right for you and you will not be right for all of the departments out there.
    One word of caution for you; you are certainly a high achiever, remember to be humble.
    You have a lot to offer the fire service.
    Best of luck to you,

Paul Lepore
    Battalion Chief
    www.aspiringfirefighters.com
    Paul Lepore
    Battalion Chief