Default Any info on FF/PM jobs in Ohio!!!

I'm a Driver/Engineer and FF/PM in South Florida and may be moving to Ohio. I have no idea how the departments work anywhere in the state. I'm curious if anyone knows which are the largest and best paying in the state. And here are a few other questions:
    1) do they offer kelly days and how often?
    2) any info on pension/benefits?
    3) where i might find more info on ohio depts. as a whole
    4) what is with all of the max age requirements for applying?
    I am just curious and would appreciate any info...Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by kkeith1212 View Post
    I'm a Driver/Engineer and FF/PM in South Florida and may be moving to Ohio. I have no idea how the departments work anywhere in the state. I'm curious if anyone knows which are the largest and best paying in the state. And here are a few other questions:
    1) do they offer kelly days and how often?
    2) any info on pension/benefits?
    3) where i might find more info on ohio depts. as a whole
    4) what is with all of the max age requirements for applying?
    I am just curious and would appreciate any info...Thanks
    Dont go to Ohio looking for a job. There are none fir firefighters

Forum Member

It would help to know what area of Ohio you are looking at. Northeast Ohio is very competitive right now due to the economy. Several suburbs in the Cincy and C-bus area seem to be growing still and are adding stations. There are no central places to find job openings but occasionally they have some posted on www.ohiofirechiefs.com, ohiofirefighters.org or monster.com. Your best bet to get in the door may be to go PT with a dept. and FT with a private until you can get in somewhere. Now to try to answer your other questions:
    1. Every dept. is different. Most offer kelly days every 3 or 6 weeks depending on their work week hours.