Forum Member

Default FF Training in Reserves?

Iím thinking about joining the air force reserves as a firefighter and I would like to get some feedback from people that might have gone that rout or know someone. Iím thinking that if I can get in, serve for a few years to get the necessary training and experience, I would have a good shot at getting on full time somewhere and still be in the reserves. My other option is to spend the next few years getting all my certifications part time through a community college and then trying to get on. I currently live in the west suburbs of Chicago, Iím 26, I have a 4 year degree but I just canít do the corporate life. Iím a Polish carpenter at heart, I donít belong behind a desk, so any feedback or advice would be greatly appreciated.

!! 4/4 For some reason my replys are not going through, maybe a few more days? Stick around.
    Last edited by Scooter0505; 04-04-2008 at 07:58 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Scooter0505 View Post
    Iím thinking about joining the air force reserves as a firefighter and I would like to get some feedback from people that might have gone that rout or know someone. Iím thinking that if I can get in, serve for a few years, get the necessary training and experience, I would have a good shot at getting on full time somewhere. My other option is to spend the next few years getting all my certifications part time through a community college and then trying to get on. I currently live in the west suburbs of Chicago, Iím 26, I have a 4 year degree but I just canít do the corporate life. Iím a Polish carpenter at heart, I donít belong behind a desk, so any feedback or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Scooter,