Douglas County Fire Department

Douglas County Fire Department proudly protects 92000 people living in an area of 202 square miles. We operate out of 9 stations that protect a primarily residential area. Our department is a public department whose members are on a paid status.

Mission Statement: To provide the citizens of Douglas county and its municipalities with quality fire protection and emergency medical services

The Douglas County Fire Department was formed from the volunteer Fire Districts of Lithia Springs, Bill Arp, Winston, and Fairplay in 1975 to become a full-time career Fire Department located in the western suburbs of Metro Atlanta. The Douglas County Fire Department serves an area of 202 square miles, and provides services to Lithia Springs, the City of Douglasville, the City of Villa Rica, and the City of Austell.

The department consists of nine stations strategically located throughout Douglas County, which operates nine engine companies, two ladder companies, six Advanced Life Support Units, one Heavy Rescue Squad, with 139 employees who work a 24-hour-on, 48-hour-off rotation. The department has 18 support staff personnel, and has an annual budget of $9,500,000. Of the 157 current employees, there are 42 paramedics, eight cardiac technicians and 63 emergency medical technicians, who are all certified by the Georgia Department of Human Resources.

All Douglas County Firefighters are certified by the Georgia Firefighters Standards and Training Council.

The Douglas County Fire Department offers a full range of fire and emergency medical services, including: Fire Suppression, Emergency Medical Transports, Arson Investigation, Hazardous Materials Response (limited), Construction, Maintenance of Facilities, Public Fire Safety Education, Construction Plan Review, Inspection of Public Buildings, Public Education (CPR, First Aid, etc.), and Honor Guard Speakers for schools, civic groups, churches, etc.