Eastern Prairie F.P.D.

The Eastern Prairie Fire Protection District was established on 23, February 1962. The District began serving the public on 22, March 1961 as the former Wilber Heights Volunteer Fire Department which is a small residential area that spawned from industry in northern Champaign. Since that time, E.P.F.P.D. has operated under the direction of 4 department chiefs: Donald Willard 1962-1963 Emil C. Kucera 1963-1981 Don H. Roderick 1981-1989 Frank C. Davis 1989-present To date, the department serves an area of approximatley 8 square miles and a population of nearly 10,000 residents. Currently, the department has 22 members.