Clinton Fire Department

Clinton Fire Department proudly protects 10000 people living in an area of 70 square miles. We operate out of 1 station that protects a primarily rural area. Our department is a public department whose members are on a combination of paid and volunteer status.

The Clinton Fire Department is a city department. The rural area is part of the Clinton Fire Protection District who has their own board of trustees. The district contracts with the city for fire protection. Covered in the rural area are Lane and Dewitt. CFD also is the primary responder to the Clinton Nuclear Power Station, and covers most of the 5000 acre Clinton Lake. We run medical calls with the Clinton Ambulance Service, and we run mutual aid calls with Tunbridge(Kenney) Fire Dept., Wapella Fire Dept., Weldon Fire Dept., Maroa Fire Dept.,Hickory Point Fire Dept., and Farmer City Fire Dept. Clinton was the site of the meeting on January 8, 1889 in which the Illinois Fireman's Association was organized.