Milwaukee Fire Department

The Milwaukee Fire Department has provided public safety services since 1875. The department currently operates 36 firehouses that are geographically organized into six battalions. Housed in these facilities are 37 engine companies, 16 ladder companies, 8 paramedic units, and 4 rescue squads. Some units have the added responsibilities of special teams: Dive Rescue (Dive), Hazardous Materials (Haz-Mat), and the Heavy Urban Rescue Team (HURT).