Gwinnett County Department of Fire and Emergency Services

Gwinnett County Department of Fire and Emergency Services proudly protects 600,000 people living in an area of 435 square miles. We operate out of 25 stations that protect a primarily residential area. Our department is a public department whose members are on a paid status.

The department responds to fire and medical emergencies, administers fire safety and prevention programs, coordinates emergency management, planning and review of construction, and building inspections. The department was established in 1971. The department has 4 Battalions, 25 Engine Companies, 9 of which are Paramedic Engines, 6 Ladder Trucks, 13 Advanced Life Support Ambulances and a Medical Operations Section. In addition there are the following special teams: Heavy Rescue, Haz Mat, and Swift Water Rescue. Major sections in the department include Fire-Rescue, Technical Services, Fire Training Academy, Community Education, and Emergency Management. The department serves 15 municipalities within our jurisdiction. This is the most under any one department in the State of Georgia.