Chapin Area Fire Service

Chapin Area Fire Service proudly protects 45,000 people living in an area of 48.2 square miles. We operate out of 3 stations that protect a primarily residential area. Our department is a public department whose members are on a combination of paid and volunteer status.

The Chapin Fire Department was formed in 1965. In 1993 and 1994 two new stations were added under the Fire Department and we became the Chapin Area Fire Service. Our response area is along the north shore of Lake Murray about 20 miles northwest of the State Capital of Columbia. Our response area is mainly residential, and light commercial. We provide mutual aid to both Newberry County and Columbia/Richland Fire Services. We respond to approximately 750 calls a year.