The National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

The NFFF is proud to sponsor various programs and services that lead a nationwide effort to honor America's fallen firefighters.

Immediately after the disaster, the Foundation coordinated resources from across the country to provide logistic and peer support to FDNY's Counseling Services Unit. Mounting an unprecedented response effort, the Foundation helped families and coworkers through the critical early days. The Foundation is now providing long-term emotional support for the fallen firefighters' families and FDNY personnel.

When Congress created the Foundation, it provided no funding or financial assistance. Therefore, the Foundation depends on donations from corporations, foundations, grants, small businesses and caring individuals to maintain its programs. The Foundation encourages donations of all sizes to help honor the brave men and women who gave their lives in duty to their country and to assist the families left behind. The Foundation is a non-profit corporation exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 (c) 3 of the Internal Revenue Code.

An Executive Director and seven staffers who work to fulfill policies established by the Foundation Board of Directors manage the Foundation on a day-to-day basis. The Board consists of nine members appointed by the United States Fire Administrator and an Advisory Committee made up of three individuals who provide unique perspectives to the functionality of the organization. Listed below are the individuals who make up the foundations Leadership Structure.

Board of Directors

  • Chairman Hal Bruno, ABC News - Retired, Chevy Chase, Maryland
  • Vice Chairman Jerry Scannell, President Emeritus, National Safety Council, Venice, Florida
  • Mary Ann Gibbons, Maryland State Firemen's Association, Annapolis, Maryland
  • Art Glatfelter, Chairman/CEO, Glatfelter Insurance Group, York, Pennsylvania
  • Steve Robinson, State Forester, Nevada Division of Fire, Carson City, Nevada
  • Harold Schaitberger, General President, International Association of Fire Fighters, Washington, D.C.
  • Treasurer Seth Statler, Congressional and Public Affairs, U.S. Customs Service, U.S. Department of Treasury, College Park, Maryland
  • Philip Stittleburg, Chairman, National Volunteer Fire Council, Washington, D.C.
  • Susan Watkins, CPCU, Vice President, State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, Bloomington, Illinois

Ex-Officio Member

  • Chief David Paulison, U.S. Fire Administrator, U.S. Fire Administration, Emmitsburg, Maryland

Advisory Committee

  • Chief Michael D. Chiaramonte, Lynbrook Fire Department, Lynbrook, New York
  • Vina Drennan, Fire Service Survivor, New York, New York
  • Chief Mario H. Trevino, San Francisco Fire Department, San Francisco, California

Executive Director

Chief Ronald Jon Siarnicki, National Fallen Firefighters Foundation, Emmitsburg, Maryland

In the next issue of this column, a complete review of the criteria for determination of Line of Duty Death Status will be covered.