Nominate an Emergency Vehicle Technician for Recognition

"Without us, the pride don't ride" was the mantra of fire apparatus mechanics in the early nineties.  As more electronic components appeared on fire apparatus, the need for new skills, coupled with the legal liability of unsafe apparatus, forced fire chiefs to rethink the role of mechanics in their departments.

In 1988, the Emergency Vehicle Technician Certification programs were introduced to elevate the standards of emergency vehicle maintenance and for the personnel performing the work.

As a result of the increased professionalism, an Emergency Vehicle Technician of the Year Award was first created in 2003 to raise awareness of the important role of emergency vehicle technicians play in fire and emergency response services.  “A fire chief can’t do his or her business without properly maintained, safe-operating apparatus,” commented Chief Fred Windisch, Ponderosa, Texas, Fire Department.

This month, Firehouse is pleased to announce the Call for Nominations for the 2014 Emergency Vehicle Technician of the Year Award. Selection criteria focuses on leadership, professional development, integrity, and a commitment to the safe operation of emergency vehicles for the responders and the community. Criteria also includes a nominee’s implementation of safe procedures, advanced education in the field and service above and beyond.

Anyone can nominate an EVT that meets the criteria described here. A letter nominating the EVT explaining why the EVT is nominated for this award, as well as any supporting information should be e-mailed to

The annual award will be presented at the Fire Department Safety Officers Associations' Apparatus Specification and Maintenance Symposium, Jan. 18-20, 2015, Orlando, Fla. and is sponsored by C.E. Niehoff & Co.

Did your apparatus or ambulance start last night? Did you respond and return safely this morning? Take a few minutes and recognize the efforts of the technicians that maintain your vehicles. Nominate your emergency vehicle technician for the 2014 EVT of the Year award.