NVFC Requests Nominations for National Awards Programs


Is your department searching for a way to honor outstanding fire service members or programs in your department or community? The NVFC offers four national awards to recognize exceptional volunteer firefighters, junior firefighters, and junior firefighter programs through the Lifetime Achievement Award, Fire Prevention Award, Junior Firefighter of the Year Award, and Junior Firefighter Program of the Year Award. Nominations for all four awards are due Tuesday, February 1, 2011, so apply today at www.nvfc.org/awards.

The 2011 NVFC awards are:

  • The NVFC Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Scott Health and Safety, recognizes a volunteer firefighter who has served at least 20 years and has made a major contribution or achieved significant accomplishments in the volunteer fire service at the local, state, and/or national level.
  • The NVFC Fire Prevention Award, sponsored by First Alert, honors a volunteer firefighter for remarkable efforts made in the area of fire prevention. The award was established in the memory of volunteer firefighter and NVFC board member Marc Mueller, who energetically promoted the causes of volunteer firefighters and supported all efforts to elevate the volunteer fire and emergency services to their highest level.
  • The Junior Firefighter of the Year Award, sponsored by Tyco International, honors a junior firefighter or Explorer who has shown extraordinary dedication, commitment, and achievements as a youth member of the fire service.
  • The Junior Firefighter Program of the Year, sponsored by Tyco International, recognizes a department that has an outstanding junior firefighter program.

The awards will be presented during a special banquet at the NVFC’s spring board meeting on April 5 in Alexandria, VA. Recipients will receive a trip to Alexandria to attend the award ceremony, a personalized award, and complimentary one-year membership in the NVFC, among other items.

Submit your nomination before the February 1 deadline. Click here for full award criteria and nomination forms.