Nomination Deadline Nears for IAFC Awards

May 29, 2008
The awards will presented at Fire-Rescue International in Denver, Colo. in August.

The deadline to submit nominations for the IAFC Awards -- presented annually at Fire-Rescue International -- is June 2.

IAFC is currently looking for nominations for following award categories:

  • The International Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor is presented to deserving firefighters for expert training, professional service and dedication to duty displayed in saving a human life.

  • The IAFC Fire Service Award for Excellence recognizes innovations and success in managing resources to reduce the loss of life and property from fire and other emergencies.

  • The Safety, Health and Survival Section Awards:

    • Alan Brunacini Fire Service Executive Safety Award: Cosponsored by Provident Insurance, this award honors the chief executive officer of a fire department (of any size or composition) who has demonstrated a unique commitment to fire service health and safety.

    • Garry Briese IAFC Safety Performance Award: This award is presented to an IAFC/SHS member in recognition of personal commitment and achievement in the area of health and safety.

    • Billy Goldfeder Fire Service Organizational Safety Award: Recently renamed to honor the work of Deputy Fire Chief Billy Goldfeder, this award is presented to fire-service organizations that have demonstrated an outstanding commitment or significant contribution in the area of fire service health and safety. Goldfeder, a firefighter since 1973, serves as deputy fire chief of the Loveland-Symmes (Ohio) Fire Department and is chair of the Safety, Health and Survival Section.

    • Safety Officer of the Year: Cosponsored by the Fire Department Safety Officers Association, this award recognizes a safety officer in a fire department (of any size or composition) who has made a significant contribution in the area of health and safety to his or her organization or the fire service as a whole.

    • The Excellence in Fire and Life Safety Award: sponsored by the International Code Council, honors those who have dedicated themselves to saving lives and property through the development of codes, fire-prevention practices and leadership techniques and who have served as examples to all fire-prevention and fire-protection professionals.

    In addition to the awards list above, the deadline for the National Fire Fighter Near-Miss Reporting System Safety Leadership Award is July 11. This award recognizes firefighters and fire departments that use the Near-Miss Reporting System as a part of their program to prevent line-of-duty deaths and injuries in their departments.

    If you have questions, email them to [email protected].

Voice Your Opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Firehouse, create an account today!