Firehouse Announces 2021 National Station Design Award Winners

Nov. 15, 2021
Fire departments and architect firms across the country are recipients of the Firehouse Station Design Awards for various fire station and facility categories.

Fort Atkinson, WI, November 15, 2021—Firehouse Magazine announced the winners of its eighth annual Station Design Awards program, which recognizes outstanding architecture and design from fire departments and emergency facilities nationwide. 

Gold, Silver and Bronze awards were issued across seven categories of facilities in this prestigious competition: Career 1 and 2, Satellite, Volunteer/Combination, Shared, Public Safety Training, and Renovation. All 64 participating entries will be published in the November issue of Firehouse Magazine and online at

“We’re excited to team up with fire departments and architecture firms to present the innovative concepts they have created to keep firefighters trained and healthy while they await the next call to serve their communities,"  Firehouse Editor-in-Chief Peter Matthews said. As more departments become true all-hazard response agencies, their equipment and training needs grow, and these new facilities keep them response ready while protecting the life-saving equipment safe from the environment.”

Janet Wilmoth, special projects director to Firehouse, noted most of this year’s entries had designated areas for decontamination of fire and EMS personnel after a response.  “The need for decontamination areas--separating the ‘dirty’ from ‘clean’ areas of the station--is the direct result of continued research on firefighter cancers,” Wilmoth said. “Also, the increase of natural lighting in all entries addresses the physical and mental health of personnel.” She added, “Every one of this year’s entries is a winner for its improvements for the department and the community that they serve.”

Winners were selected by a panel of six judges, including fire chiefs and architects experienced in recent design and construction.

The 2021Station Design Award winners are as follows:

Career I Fire Station Award Winners (stations 15,000 square feet and larger)

Gold AwardLexington Fire Headquarters, Lexington, MA
Architect: Tecton Architects PC, Architect of Record, Hartford, CT, and H2M architects + engineers, Firematic Architect, Latham, NY

Silver AwardThornton Fire Station No. 1 and Fire Administration, Thornton, CO
Architect:  Allred & Associates, Broomfield, CO

Bronze AwardFire Station 1, Midlothian, TX
Architect: Brinkley Sargent Wiginton Architects, Dallas, TX

Career II  Fire Station Award Winners (stations less than 15,000 square feet)

Gold Award—Georgetown Fire Station No. 7, Georgetown, TX
Architect: Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Inc., College Station, TX

Silver AwardSchertz Fire Station No. 3, Schertz, TX
Architect: Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Inc., College Station, TX

Bronze AwardSouth Metro Fire Rescue Station 20, Highlands Ranch, CO
Architect: Oz Architecture, Denver, CO

Satellite Fire Station Award Winners

Gold AwardGeorgetown Fire Station No. 6, Georgetown, TX
Architect: Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Inc., College Station, TX

Silver AwardComal County ESD 3 – Canyon Lake Fire/EMS Station 54, New Braunfels, TX
Architect: Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Inc., College Station, TX

Bronze AwardNorth Hays Fire Station #74, Dripping Springs, TX (Hays Co. ESD 6)
Architect: Martinez Architects, Austin, TX

Shared Facilities Award Winners

Gold AwardSan Rafael Public Safety Center, San Rafael, CA
Architect: Mary McGrath Architects, Oakland, CA

Silver Award—Billie A. Hall Public Safety Center, Sand Springs, OK
Architect: Dewberry, Tulsa, OK

Fire Station Renovation Award Winners

Gold AwardWaltham Moody Street Fire Station, Waltham, MA
Architect: Saccoccio & Associates Architects

Silver AwardNorth West Fire District Station 3, Baldwinsville, NY
Architect: CSArch, Albany, NY

Bronze AwardAberdeen Volunteer Fire Department, Aberdeen, MD
Architect: Manns Woodward Studios, Inc., White Marsh, MD

Public Safety Training Facility Award

Gold AwardGilbert Public Safety Training Facility, Gilbert, AZ
Architect: HDA Architects / CORE Construction, Gilbert, AZ

Volunteer/Combination Fire Station Award Winner

Gold AwardCy-Fair Fire Station #5, Houston, TX (Harris Co. ESD 9)
Architect: Martinez Architects, Austin, TX

Silver Award—Albert Lea Fire & Rescue, Albert Lea, MN
Architect: Brunton Architects & Engineers, North Mankato, MN

Bronze Award—Spanish Fork City Station 62, Spanish Fork City, UT
Architect: Blalock & Partners, Salt Lake City, UT, with TCA Architecture Planning, Seattle, WA

About Firehouse

Firehouse is the leading fire and emergency services brand, reaching more than 600,000 unique visitors and subscribers monthly and thousands of attendees annually via its live events and media portfolio. The Firehouse brand encompasses Firehouse Magazine,, Firehouse Expo, Firehouse Station Design Conference, Station Design Awards, and a host of print and digital products that target fire and emergency services personnel. Utilizing its multiple platforms and unparalleled reach, Firehouse sets itself apart from the competition by fostering a culture that encourages innovation and the use of the latest digital and database technologies to best serve its audience and companies serving the marketplace.

Voice Your Opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Firehouse, create an account today!

Request More Information

By clicking above, I acknowledge and agree to Endeavor Business Media’s Terms of Service and to Endeavor Business Media's use of my contact information to communicate with me about offerings by Endeavor, its brands, affiliates and/or third-party partners, consistent with Endeavor's Privacy Policy. In addition, I understand that my personal information will be shared with any sponsor(s) of the resource, so they can contact me directly about their products or services. Please refer to the privacy policies of such sponsor(s) for more details on how your information will be used by them. You may unsubscribe at any time.